Otto Addo, head coach of the Black Stars, was enraged by the penalty awarded to Portugal in his team’s 3-2 loss to the Europeans in Group H of the 2022 World Cup on Thursday.
Although replays showed the Ghanaian defender got a touch on the ball, Mohammed Salisu was penalized for allegedly bringing down Cristiano Ronaldo in the box.
Despite the Black Stars players’ pleas, the referee did not check the video monitor, and Cristiano Ronaldo scored from the spot to give Portugal the lead.
Otto Addo did not hold back in his criticism of the referee’s decision to award the penalty during the post-match press conference.
Addo called the penalty a “special gift” from the official and insisted it changed the game’s outcome.
“Congratulations to anyone who scores a goal, but this was truly a gift…
“It was a gift from the referee,” he explained.
Otto Addo refused to be drawn into suggestions that the penalty was given under duress because Ronaldo was involved.
He claimed that a foul should have been called in Salisu’s favour because he was the first to touch the ball.
“I have no proof that he would have made a different decision for someone else.” “After [Salisu] played the ball, there was contact with the player,” Addo explained.
“I’m not sure what they were doing, if they weren’t paying attention or if the VAR wasn’t paying attention.” When I look at that scene right now, it’s just incredible. Replays show that [Salisu] got to the ball. It was a blunder for us.”
Andre Ayew’s goal canceled out Ronaldo’s, but goals from Joao Felix and Rafael Leao put Portugal back in control, and they held on to win despite a late goal from Osman Bukari for the Stars.
Follow Clicks ‘n Likes On Facebook for more update